ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE COTSWOLDS CONSERVATION BOARD

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COTSWOLD DISTRICT COUNCIL, CIRENCESTER

TUESDAY 26TH MARCH 2019

Present:

Chairman - Liz Eyre

David Broad George Lambrick

Nicholas Bumford Catherine Le-Grice Mack Rebecca Charley Ed Macalister-Smith

Mike Dean Mark MacKenzie-Charrington

Jacqui Fenn Charles Mathew
Mollie Groom John Matthews
Adrian Hardman Brendan McCarthy
Liz Hodges Andrew Parsons
Sue Hope Daniel Szor
Martin Horwood David Thackray

David Kerr Garry King

Also in attendance:

Mark Connelly Land Management Officer

Martin Lane Director

Della Morris Finance and Office Administrator

Mandy Pressland Office Manager

Simon Smith Project Development and Business

Planning Officer

Martin Veal

James Webb LEADER Programme Manager

Apologies for absence were received from the following:

Nigel Colston Peter Jones
Matthew Darby Simon King
Stephen Gray Tony Merry
Nick Hurst Roger Wilson

Jo Barker

Absent:

Phil Chapman Henry Kenney-Herbert

B 1.1 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD</u>

The Director explained that Liz Eyre had been the only Member nominated in advance for the position of Chairman. There were no further nominations.

RESOLVED that Liz Eyre be elected Chairman of the Board, to serve until the next Annual General Meeting of the Board.

Note:

Mrs. Eyre then took the Chair and expressed her thanks to the Board.

B 1.2 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD

The Chairman explained that Brendan McCarthy had been the only Member nominated in advance for the position of Vice-Chairman. There were no further nominations.

RESOLVED that Brendan McCarthy be elected Vice-Chairman of the Board, to serve until the next Annual General Meeting of the Board.

B 1.3 RECORD OF MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

The Board received a report of Members' attendances since the previous Annual General Meeting.

The Director informed Members that the External Funding Group Meeting of 29th January 2019 highlighted in beige had been postponed to 13th March 2019; and the LEADER Meeting of 27th March was taking place the following day, where attendance would be recorded.

Ms. Le-Grice Mack commented that she had been marked as absent at the Rural Skills Working Group Meeting but explained that, as attendance for the Meeting had been optional, she had not considered it necessary to make a lengthy journey to attend the Meeting if not required to attend. The Chairman responded that the Meeting had been arranged at a late stage to deal with items of business and the Director agreed that this record would be amended accordingly.

RESOLVED that the Record of Attendances be noted.

B 1.4 APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

RESOLVED that:

(a) it be noted that, by virtue of the Constitution, the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Board are, automatically, Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Executive Committee;

- (b) the Local Authority Board Members appoint Nigel Colston, Mike Dean and Martin Veal to serve as Members of the Executive Committee;
- (c) the Parish Council Board Members appoint David Broad and Tony Merry to serve as Members of the Executive Committee;
- (d) the Secretary of State Board Members appoint George Lambrick, Cate Le-Grice Mack and Ed Macalister-Smith to serve as Members of the Executive Committee:

with all appointments to run until the next Annual General Meeting of the Board.

B 1.5 <u>APPOINTMENT TO TASK AND FINISH GROUPS AND WORKING</u> <u>GROUPS</u>

RESOLVED that:

- (a) Cate Le-Grice Mack, John Matthews and Tony Merry be appointed to serve on the Rural Skills Task and Finish Group;
- (b) Mike Dean, Liz Hodges, Nick Hurst, Ed Macalister-Smith, Mark MacKenzie-Charrington and Martin Veal be appointed to serve on the Planning and Infrastructure Working Group;
- (c) David Kerr, Ed Macalister-Smith, Brendan McCarthy, Tony Merry and Andrew Parsons be appointed to serve on the Walking & Exploring Capital Working Group;
- (d) David Kerr, Andrew Parsons, David Thackray and Dan Szor be appointed to serve on the External Funding Working Group;
- (é) Liz Eyre, David Kerr and George Lambrick be appointed to serve on the A417 Missing Link Working Group;
- (f) Nicholas Bumford, Rebecca Charley and Nigel Colston be appointed to serve on the Glorious Cotswolds Grasslands Working Group;

with all appointments to run until the next Annual General Meeting of the Board.

B 1.6 APPOINTMENTS TO OTHER GROUPS AND EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS

RESOLVED that:

(a) Rebecca Charley, Nigel Colston, Liz Hodges, Cate Le-Grice Mack and John Matthews be appointed to serve as the Board's appointees to

the Cotswolds LEADER Executive Group until the next Annual General Meeting of the Board;

(b) Mike Dean, Liz Eyre, Cate Le-Grice Mack and David Thackray be appointed to serve as the Board Member appointees on the Cotswolds Discovery Centre Partnership Board, to serve until the next Annual General Meeting of the Board.

B 1.7 DATE OF NEXT ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

It was noted that the next Annual General Meeting of the Board had been scheduled for Tuesday 24th March 2020.

B 1.8 SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2019/20

The Schedule of Meetings for 2019/20 was noted.

The Meeting commenced at 12.40 p.m. and closed at 1.15 p.m.

Chairman