APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD'S EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND PLANNING & INFRASTRUCTURE WORKING GROUP

Summary: To note the outcome of recent retirements, election results and to appoint one Local Authority appointee to the Executive Committee and two Members to the Planning & Infrastructure Working Group.

Recommendations:

- (a) That Board members note the recent Board Member retirements and the outcome of the local and European elections in May on Board Member membership;
- (b) that the local authority appointees to the Board elect one local authority appointee onto the Board's Executive Committee;
- (c) that Board members elect three Board Members from David Broad, Matt Darby, Mollie Groom, Gary King, and John Matthews onto the Planning & Infrastructure Working Group.

Office Ref: Martin Lane, Director

General Update

- 1. In the recent local elections on 3rd May 2019;
 - Mark MacKenzie-Charrington lost his seat at Cotswold District Council
 - Martin Veal lost his seat at Bath & North East Somerset Council
 - Sue Hope retired as a Councillor and did not stand for election at South Gloucestershire Council
 - Stephen Gary retired as a Councillor and did not stand for election at Stratford-on-Avon District Council
- 2. In the Parish Council elections on 3rd May Christopher Kenney-Herbert lost his seat in Moreton in Marsh. Therefore Publica / Cotswold District Council have sought nominations from parish councils in the Group 3 of parishes for councillors interested in joining the Board. An associated timetable is provided in **Appendix 'A'**.
- 3. All five Board members are entitled to remain as Board members until their successor is appointed, for up to three months, whichever is the sooner.
- 4. Martin Horwood was elected an MEP in the EU elections on the 23rd May 2019, leading to a potential change of appointee from Cheltenham Borough Council.
- 5. To date the new appointees to the Board are as follows:
 - Sarah Whalley-Hoggins has been appointed by Stratford-on-Avon District Council.
 - Ben Stokes has been appointed by South Gloucestershire Council.
- 6. In addition Stroud District Council has appointed Norman Kay to the Board in replacement for Nick Hurst.

- 7. Officers are not aware of any other changes.
- 8. Martin Veal, was a Local Authority appointee and a member of the Board's Executive Committee. There is therefore a vacancy on the Executive for a Local Authority appointee
- 9. The roles and responsibilities of the Executive Committee members are detailed in the Board's Constitution, Article 6.
- 10. Local Authority appointed Board Members were invited to submit nominations for the one vacancy on the Executive Committee by noon on the 14th June 2019. No nominations had been received by that date.
- 11. The Executive Committee comprises the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board and 8 other Board Members. In accordance with the Board's Constitution and Establishment Order, the division of membership of the Executive Committee between local authority members, Secretary of State Members and parish members is in the same proportion as membership of the Board, i.e. 4:4:2.
- 12. Martin Veal, Mark MacKenzie-Charrington and Nick Hurst were members of the Planning & Infrastructure Working Group. Board members were therefore invited to submit nominations for the vacancies on the Working Group by noon on the 14th June 2019. There is no restriction on whether the nominations are from Secretary of State, Parish or Local Authority nominees.
- 13. Nominations were received from David Broad, Matt Darby, Mollie Groom, Gary King, and John Matthews.

Supporting Paper(s):

Appendix 'A' - Timetable for Group 3 of Town and Parish Councils and Parish Meetings to nominate and elect a new Board appointee.